Own Your Own Business or Looking to Start Up?

Here is a fantastic analogy from Philip Yancey that I could liken to establishing and growing your own business.  I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did.

 

“Once, after an afternoon of hiking in the dust and heat, while loaded down with seventy-pound packs, we paused for a brief rest stop.  One of the group followed a honeybee to a small patch of wild strawberries growing nearby.  No self-respecting grocery store would ever have accepted these strawberries.  They were small and scrawny and coated with dust.  We didn’t care, they were food, and perhaps contained some moisture.  I picked a handful, popped them into my mouth, and was immediately overwhelmed by the incredible flavour of sweet, luscious strawberry juice.  These desiccated little berries were the best I had ever eaten.!  I spent my rest time picking more and stuffing them into plastic bags for an afternoon snack.

                At first I thought we had stumbled upon a new species, the discovery of which would revolutionize the fruit-growing industry.  Gradually I figured out that the tast had to do with my physical condition, not the strawberries’.  The process of using my body and connecting with all my senses had freed up a whole new level of pleasure awareness.  The extraordinary, delicious taste of those strawberries would never have been mine if I had not first felt the heat and toil of hiking all day, as well as the pangs of hunger that sharpened my senses.”

 

This is from the book “Where is God When It Hurts?” written by Philip Yancey.

Leave a Reply

